Simply Bowie

I have realised today that you don’t truly know how influential someone is until they are gone.

I think today is a day everyone will know where the were when they found out the legend David Bowie had died.

I was mid argument with my boyfriend in the kitchen and I switched off the radio because he wasn’t listening. He was in the middle of having a go back because he liked that song (told you he wasn’t listening!) when he stopped and told me to turn it back on. Why have they just played 3 David Bowie songs in a row he asked. He already knew the answer Switching the radio back on confirmed what he had first thought.

I rarely get upset about famous peoples deaths, I save my emotions for my family and close friends.  But this was different.

The argument was forgotten in a second as we were shocked into silence. I got quite emotional much to my surprise and I spent the rest of the day figuring out why I was so upset over the death of a singer.

David Bowie was more than just a singer. He inspired more people in this world than he probably ever thought possible all those years ago.

At this point you should probably know a bit more about me and my man. I am a 33 year old, sometimes “girly girl”, sometimes “ladette”(as my best friend calls me!) I am into all the frothy pop, I watch X factor, Britain’s Got Talent, you get the drift! I still like all the classics as my mum always had the record player on at home for me and my sister to dance to.

Mr Seaside is a bit older than me, I won’t tell you how much older! He grew up with David Bowie from the beginning, he is a music buff and the Popmaster king. He hates all the modern stuff, so in that sense we are polar opposites! We fight over 6 Music and Heart FM on a daily basis.

For Mr Seaside the loss of David Bowie is a shock because he has grown up with every great song ever released throughout the decades, he has lived each great moment in his epic career and I’m sure he has a memory for every song. There hasn’t been a time in his life without a David Bowie record.

For me its a bit different. I wasn’t there for all the greats and didn’t live through it but obviously you don’t get through life without listening to his records.

The first time I took an interest in Bowie was when I watched the film Labryinth. No one else I know has ever watched it which I can’t believe but I found it fascinating. I just loved him  in the film and his career. I couldn’t help admire his confidence and the fact he followed his own path, even from such a young age I knew I wanted to be as confident as him.

I have had a crap year and been judged more than you could ever know. I have always been a very strong, confident opinionated person. I make my own mind up and quite often take a different path to most people. Sometimes to my advantage and sometimes not. (not everyone likes a strongwilled woman!) The point I am making is that David Bowie was a massive influence on the person I have become.

When I am going through bad times I always look to strong, independent, confident people to bring me out of it and remind myself who I should be.

I admire him in life and now death for his strength and dignity. I admire him even more for the absolute class and bold confidence in which he lived his life.

David Bowie was strong, confident and had amazing character. He showed everybody in this world that we can be anything we want to be.

 

RIP David Bowie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Simply Bowie

Leave a Reply

