A Christmas Canape Recipe!

Hi all! I am in the middle of writing some more of my New York Diary pieces, but in the meantime I thought I would share some of the Christmas canapé recipes I am experimenting with!

I know there are some fantastic products at Iceland, but for those who like to cook this is a great sausage roll recipe which received high praise from both my lovely Mr Seaside and my very best friend.

(I must admit I had a half hour strolling around Iceland and very nearly gave in to the easy option. Look blinkin great, very affordable and easy if you have a lot of people at a party. I am certainly having a cocktail party night with the stuff they have in at the moment for a night off!)

Anyhow, here is the recipe for my sausage rolls, it’s easier than you think. I use ready made pastry!

Here Goes……

Ingredients

30g butter

100g mushrooms (very finely chopped)

1 tbps Worcestershire Sauce

1tbap Tabasco

1 tbsp thyme

450g sausage meat (you can squeeze it out of fresh sausages, messy but YUMMY!)  Tip: go to your local butcher and get your favourite sausage, you won’t regret it.

Ready rolled puff pastry. If you have the perfect recipe use it. If not, get ready rolled and roll it out and thin it out a bit. (I use ready made! My hands aren’t cold enough!)

Salt and Pepper , Oh one beaten egg (I forgot!!)

METHOD

Preaheat oven to gas mark 6

 

Melt butter and fry the mushrooms in a frying pan until soft.

Transfer to a bowl.

Mix all of the other ingredients together, Mix very well!!

Don’t forget to season!!

Roll out pastry, use as much flour as needed to stop it sticking, It won’t ruin it and it won’t stick.

Cut and lay the meat as follows.

Sausage-Rolls-meat-in-pastry

Then roll up and put the join facing down on the baking tray and with a knife make joins along the pastry to mark out each individual roll like soSausage-Rolls-before-cooked

Make sure you don’t cut all the way through, this is done afterwards. Using a beaten egg brush the roll and repeat the process for as many rolls as you want or as far as the meat will stretch!

Bake for about 25 minutes until the rolls are a lovely golden brown.

Remove from the oven and cut into mini rolls once cooled.

ENJOY!!

sausage-rolls

These can be made in advance so there is no rushing about before your guests arrive! The best kinds of recipes.

I have been experimenting with more canapés today so I will be adding the recipes tomorrow and will finish with some fab Christmas cocktails (I’m looking forward to that tasting evening!) and a post about hosting the perfect Christmas party stress free!

See you all soon!

 

Leave a Reply

