Halloween Cooking and Carving!!

DSC00832

 

Hi Everyone!!

I’ve been getting into the Halloween spirit by carving my pumpkin and making a yummy pumpkin soup!

After buying a suitably large enough pumpkin and pinching (borrowing!) the carving and stencil kit from my local pub, I set about cutting the top off and scooping out the insides.

I think there are plenty of guides online to show how this is done with better pictures than I can put on here so I will let you look at them, along with the hundreds of templates you can get.

The one thing I will say is that it is worth getting one of those pumpkin carving kits with the spoon and the little mini saw type knives. Far better than tackling it with kitchen knives and blunt spoons!! You can pick them up from Tesco for about £4.00

My Soup recipe is made using the deseeded and diced pumpkin from a medium to large pumpkin but if you end up having a small pumpkin just bulk it out with a veg like carrot, squash, sweet potato etc.

Anyway, here is my recipe for spiced pumpkin soup.

750g pumpkin deseeded and cubed, or as much as you have once you have scooped out and deseeded the pumpkin

2 carrots, sliced

2 onions, roughly chopped

1 potato/sweet potato

2 chicken or vegetable stock cubes

1 litre water

Salt and pepper to taste

Now if you want to go spicy……………………

1tsp parika

1tsp coriander

1tsp cumin

If you want to stay cool………………………….

250ml double cream

2tsp nutmeg

METHOD

Preheat the oven to gas mark 7 or 220 c and place pumpkin, carrots and onions in a roasting tin, drizzle with oil and place in the oven for around 40 minutes. Make sure they are soft and not black.

While they are roasting, I would say 25  minutes in,  boil the diced potato in the water and crumble in the stock cubes.

Once the vegetables are done add to the potato and stock.

At this point if you want spicy add the paprika, coriander and cumin.

Once all combined blend in a blender and return to the pan.

If you want Cool add the cream and nutmeg, then add salt and pepper and gently heat to serve.

Its lovely served with those part baked baguettes that you can get from most supermarkets, always oozing with a good portion of butter.

I found out tonight, courtesy of Little Mr Seaside that a few dashes of Lea and Perrins goes very well. After 2 full bowls and a full baguette I think its safe to say I have a very satisfied man!!

I must say it goes very well with a Cosmopolitan!

I hope you all enjoy an Autumn classic with a little bit of spookiness thrown in.

P.S

I tried my very best to get my lovely black cat in the background of my cat styled pumpkin but he is just too naughty or stubborn!!!

Leave a Reply

